Christmas Cheer!!!


 You know you’ve been away from your blog too long when you have trouble remembering your login and password.  (ok in truth, since my computer and phone and ipad all log me in automatically it is a forgivable offence……  BUT.  I do know that I’ve been amiss, and I apologize…  truly I do.)

This fall has been a crazy whirlwind of nothingness.  Have you ever had a period of time like that?  You are as busy as hell, doing nothing.  I’m 45 years old and still haven’t figured out how that happens.  I mean, I KNOW I’ve been workling a lot.  But that’s been a constant in my life since I was 18.  Literally.  If I actually knew what it felt like to only work 40 hours in a  week as a regular thing (let’s say for more than 6 months in a stretch), I probably wouldn’t know what to do with myself.  (In truth we all know what I’d do….  I’d sleep late.  Surf the web for things I shouyldn’t speak about in public.  I’d eat way too much junk.  And STILL get next to nothing done!!!!)  Truth is it seems the busier I feel the more I get done, USUALLY.  Just not over the last 4 months….    So I apologize.

Anyway, that being said.  CHRISTMAS is upon us!!!  And it is time for some CHRISTMAS CHEER!!!  (yes I’m talking alcohol!!!  Was that even a question?)  Todd has been making some amazing eggnog this year and after posting a photo on facebook, there were some requests for a recipe, so that’s what this blog will be about.

Let’s start by saying THIS WILL NOT TASTE LIKE CARTON EGGNOG.  Oh sweet GOD NO!!!  Not chemically, not full of preservatives.  The WORST thing for you in this???  RUM!!!  (and let’s face it, a little rum isn’t really a bad thing at all….  especially at christmas!!!).  If you want a light, tasty, christmassy drink, look no further.  This nog ticks all the boxes, I promise.  I will also promise you that while I include a calorie count for this one, it is NOT a recipe which is geared to weight loss.  Loss of consciousness maybe.  But not weight loss.  Don’t hate me for wanting to have some Christmas fun ok?  It only comes but once a year!!!!

What you will need:

  • 3 eggs separated
  • 3 Tbsp + 1 tsp white sugar
  • 1 3/4 cups whole milk
  • 1/2 cup Cream 10% or 18% (18% makes a more rich and delicious drink)
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 4 oz dark rum or bourbon

Here’s how you do it:

You will need 2 large mixing bowls

Separate the eggs.

In one bowl whip the egg whites until they begin to stiffen, sprinkle in 1 tsp of sugar and continue to whip until stiff peaks form, set aside.


In the other bowl combine the egg yolks and sugar, mix until they become pale, add spices, vanilla and rum.  Mix well.  Add milk and cream and stir to combine.

Now fold the egg whites into the rum , milk and egg yolk mixture.  Combine well but use care not to flatten the whites.  You just want to make sure there are no lumps.
Pour into a serving pitcher and enjoy on the rocks!  Feel free to add more rum or bourbon as you see fit.


Will keep refrigerated (up to 3 days) in a sealed container.

Alright.  So now you know the secret to how I stay so wonderfully happy and cheerful through the holiday season.  I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as we do….  Tis the season to be jolly after all right?

Thanks for Reading

Todd and Duane

This entry was posted in Cooking, Fun, Recipe and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

