Today’s BREAKTHROUGH


Ok, Today, Sunday March 29/15 was an interesting day for me on this journey.  First I should mention that Todd and I attended a friends “surprise” 50th birthday last night.  Let’s just say we had a great time and were out just a little late….  I think sleep came somewhere between 3:30 and 4:00am (and I didn’t see today start until somewhere after noon….  Typical for me on a Sunday I know).  Our Sunday was supposed to be a day of sleeping in, followed by a little grocery shopping and then taking the time to make a decent dinner.  Somewhere along the line though things did’t quite go exactly to plan.

I should probably start by saying that there are a few “little projects” happening right now.  For example Todd is working on a wonderful little “recipe” that is supposed to become a rich grated topping that is almost a “parmesan cheese substitute,” (of course this takes two weeks to accomplish, so it won’t be ready for testing for at least another week…..  THEN you’ll see a blog about it I’m sure…..).  Then, as an early birthday gift I received a new “slow juicer” attachment for our kitchen aid mixer (thank you very much William Sonoma!!  AWESOME SALE!!), so I have been trying to throw EVERY fruit and vegetable in the house into this machine (again, another blog to follow on this topic later I am sure!).  I was also working on a blog post about ways to brighten up a ho-hum salad without breaking the “calorie bank” and had taken some pics, and had a basic outline worked up in my head.  But then, in trying to help Todd with his little two week project, we were facing dinner time, and had some chicken in the fridge which HAD to be used tonight, and some left over egg whites from something else we had been doing and this one lone duck egg yolk that had been orphaned when it was murdered by Todd broke and was no longer suitable for it’s intended purpose.  And that friends, is where tonights blog post was born.

One lone duck egg yolk.  Which somehow ended up blowing my mind tonight.  How exactly did we even arrive at the concept for using this poor yolk?  Life always seems to have a way of providing inspiration.  While at our party last night there had been great discussion at our dinner table about hollandaise sauce.  Then while we had been out at our favourite farmers market which had just opened today for the spring season, I had been talking to Todd about his amazing caesar salad dressing, wondering out loud how high the calorie count would be because, admittedly I have been craving his “table side” caesar.  Now here we were staring at another salad.  Greens and sprouts, not much else. I was trying to decide what to do with it to “jazz it up” you know, make me interested in actually eating it.  I mean I love food, and greens can be a very good thing to eat, but, SOME NIGHTS you just need a great big chocolate bar something MORE.  Since we have been doing this dieting calorie counting thing, (while nothing is “off-limits” food wise) there have been some things which I used to eat which I no longer do, simply because I want to save my calories for the “things that matter” (like my nightly indulgence of red wine) instead of blowing them on things like HEAVY SALAD DRESSINGS!!  I mean really, when you realize that just one tablespoon of oil clocks in at 120 calories…. (yes, olive oil, canola oil, sunflower oil, walnut oil…. all of them….. you can go check if you like…. are within a very small, minute variance from 120 calories a tablespoon.  If you can find an oil of any kind that’s under 100 calories a tablespoon you had better tell me now, because I haven’t found that one yet)… salad dressings are NOT the most calorie conscious.  And of course, any dressing which is low in oil ends up being high in….   what was that again?  Oh, yes, sugars……  Seems it’s pretty hard to get taste without one or the other.  Even a simple homemade oil and vinegar dressing has over 70 calories per tablespoonful….http://www.caloriecount.com/calories-salad-dressing-home-recipe-vinegar-i4135  So, how did this duck egg yolk save my night?  Well, very simply, thanks to yet another “brainstorm” on Todd’s part, it became the central ingredient for a salad dressing.  Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:

one duck egg yolk

1/4 tsp coarse salt

1 tbsp champagne wine vinegar

1/4 tsp olive oil

1/4 tsp dried tarragon

1/4 tsp ground white pepper

Method:

Mix egg yolk and salt.  wish together with a fork until well combined and thickened.  allow to sit in refrigerator for an hour.  When ready to dress salad, add remaining ingredients and wish together until emulsified.  Dress salad and serve.  This recipe will dress TWO salads, and will only cost you a cost you a measly 35 calories in the process.  Each serving of salad dressing will be approximately 1 1/3 tablespoons, so not only is it a low calorie dressing, it ALSO doesn’t require you to SKIMP on your dressing, which, come on we all know, is the BEST part of eating salad!!!!

Enjoy

Duane

This entry was posted in Recipe and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

